Expression has No Calories

Oh man, I’m pretty hyped at the moment. I love to write, color, draw, doodle, simply create… Whatever comes to my mind, I’m usually writing it down in one of my several journals I leave in random places around my house. About two weeks ago, the beginnings of a poem popped into my head about the kids who will be graduating from high school this year.

Sidebar (this next bit has to do with my poem)…

What a tough time to be a senior in high school right now… As Student Government sponsor, I have had the privilege of getting to know some of the students in the 2020 graduating class. My heart goes out to them as they wrap up their final year of high school that is literally unlike any other. I mean, no Prom, no Grad Night, no Grad Bash, Project Graduation, you name it, they didn’t get it… Many students that I’ve chatted with can’t stand distance learning and they miss being at school. It’s hard to believe but I was in their shoes exactly 10 years ago, and I would have been destroyed if all of my lasts were stripped from me. Didn’t we all spend our 3.5 years of high school looking forward to the final semester of our senior year? Yes, we do. I couldn’t wait for all of those big moments that I would remember forever. Well, these kids won’t have the same memories.

So where am I going with this… Expression has no calories. Yup, you have the freedom to express your ideas, creativity, and opinions free of caloric value to your daily intake. Like I mentioned earlier, I love to write. I’m finding the more I write, the more I want to write and the more I have to write about. So whether you choose to express yourself through writing facebook posts, through 280 character tweets, through dancing or singing, or any other form of expression, do it. There’s no calories adding up while you sit and transform your ideas into something tangible. It’s totally worth it and you may even burn a calorie or two.

Here’s my poem:

Leave a comment