Fall Decorating

Fall is finally upon us, unless you live in Central Florida, like me, where it’s still hitting 93 degrees and thunder storms roll up and linger like old ladies in produce aisle. Today was the first day I’ve been able to really embrace the very slow transition and break out my fall/halloween decor, autumn music, and sweater weather candles.

🍂I love fall🍁

Everything about fall just makes my heart warm – the smells, the food, the colors, the clothes. I mean, (enter Chandler Bing voice) how could you not love it?

Today my boys and I spent the day attempting to decorate the house. We watched some of our favorite kid friendly halloween themed youtube videos and even enjoyed a completely made up halloween picnic dinner.

I’ve never been one to hop on the Halloween train. When I was younger, I had a love/hate relationship with Halloween. Loved the candy, hated – nay, DREADED – the walk to the front door. I do not like to be scared, I don’t like things jumping out at me. So yes, you’ve guessed it. I’ve never been to Halloween Horror Nights (it’s a universal thing) or seen any of the typical scary Halloween movies. Freddy and Jason who?

Anyway, my mother-in-law loves to decorate for every season. From curtains to candle sticks she crafts her holiday decorations to make her home festive and welcoming. I just love it. So this year, she donated a few items to my very small halloween collection. She also suggested combining my fall and halloween decorations and then swapping my skulls and spiders for cornucopia and pilgrims in November. This stroke of genius allowed me to decorate throughout the house without the stress of halloween vs. fall decor battle.

My boys were thrilled to help hang garland and fill vases with pumpkins. So I leaned into this new-found celebration of halloween with Dave and Ava’s Halloween playlist on Youtube. My boys love Dave and Ava nursery rhymes and songs. We sing them together in the car, at the dinner table, and in public places… Matt and I have been known to break out in song without the kids around as well.

I’m sure I will have a post in the future about mealtime for the boys, however, for today I’ll keep it simple. If the food isn’t interesting, it’s less likely to be consumed. So last night (in keeping with the theme) I made “Hotdog Spiders.” I poked uncooked fettuccini noodles through the hotdog so the noodles lay perpendicular to the hotdog. I used 8 noodles (this was a mutant 16 legged spider) per dog and then cooked them for the length of time suggested on the pasta box. The boys sat on the floor on a towel (picnic style) and ate. They loved picking out the noodles and then eating the hotdog at the end. I’ll definitely be making those again.

Ahh, so glad fall is finally upon us! I’m just waiting to break out my boots and my sweaters. What’s your favorite part of fall? I would love to hear in the comments!

Happy Fall Y’all!

Leave a comment